1. Home
  2. >>
  3. whatsapp
  4. >>
  5. How long does WhatsApp keep your data after deleting the profile?

How long does WhatsApp keep your data after deleting the profile?



How long does WhatsApp keep your data after deleting the profile?

Today, many users decide to change from WhatsApp to other messaging platforms instant. All the reasons are derived from the new rules of use that they impose on users and not all are equally valid: those who fear that their private conversations will be read by third parties, for example, have no reason to worry; Those who prefer to prevent conversations with companies and businesses from turning into collateral on Facebook should take a look around. In any case, whoever decides to change the messaging application deleting your account you must know the data stored on the WhatsApp servers are not removed immediately, but they remain on the platform for a period of three months.

The 90 day period

The developers themselves specify it in the document that summarizes the answers to all the most frequently asked questions by users of the platform. On the site used for this purpose, we read that to delete a user’s information it may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the cancellation process. The developers specify that, even after this period, copies of the information can remain stored in the backup file that the site normally uses to restore platform data in the event of disasters and failures.

What happens after deletion?

After deletion, the account will no longer be available for access, even before the end of the 90-day period for physical data deletion. Anyone who wants to link their phone number to the messaging service will obviously be able to do it again in the future, but lose all associated information to the profile, in this case the conversations and the contact list. The latter can be generated automatically from the phone book, but the chats cannot be retrieved.